Categories
African history Belief Poetry Racism & Anti-Blackness

African Muslimah, it’s litty

I’m never going to justify any of my identities

I have a right to exist in every shape I please

How you gon introduce yourself to me

And question my Africanness because of my Muslim belief

And my Islam because of this Black me

Child, if you want I can be real petty

How you so Afrocentric and wear a dashiki made in Taiwan

Talk all that pro-Blackness, can’t speak any African languages. Not even one

Say I’m betraying my ancestors, who you sleeping with fam

Habibti, don’t look down on me

Because we’ve been Muslims longer than your forefathers have lived

Descendants of Bilal Radi-Allahu ‘anhu, Maninka

Real Black Muslim Royalty look at us

You hear how we recite the Holy Qur’an

Jeliya, Mbalax, Soul, Blues all wrapped in one

Colourful melodies like my headwraps

Covering this sacred 4C hair up

I tould you I could be petty

African Muslimah, it’s litty

By farafinmuso

Telling you everything I know and don't know about Africanness, Blackness, White supremacy and racism.

Pan-Africanist, in love with Africa and Africans.

Leave a comment